Flood Plain Administration Information

The Legislature of the State of South Dakota has in SDCL 7-18-14 & 15 delegated the responsibility to local governmental units to adopt regulations designed to promote the public health, safety, and welfare of its citizenry. Therefore, the Board of County Commission of Lawrence County, South Dakota, does ordain as follows:

Lawrence County of South Dakota elects to comply with the requirements of the National Flood Insurance Act of 1968 (P.L. 90-488, as amended). The National Flood Insurance Program, established in the aforesaid act, provides that areas of the county having a special flood hazard be identified by the Federal Emergency Management Agency and that floodplain management measures be applied in such flood hazard areas. The National Flood Insurance Program was broadened and modified with the passage of the Flood Disaster Protection Act of 1973 and other legislative measures. It was further modified by the National Flood Insurance Reform Act of 1994. The National Flood Insurance Program is administered by the Federal Emergency Management Agency, a component of the U.S. Department of Homeland Security.

FEMA's Flood Map Service Center is a great resource when looking at property.